Serenity Prayer

May 16, 2009

God grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change;
Courage to change the things I can;
And wisdom to know the difference.

I’ve been thinking about this lately, especially the part about accepting things I can’t change.  The pressure to clear my friend’s boxes out of the storage unit is self-imposed. Nobody is forcing me to worry about it.  The stress caused by this pressure isn’t healthy, and maybe I should let it go.  Just accept that right now I can’t deal with all the things stored for other people.

I have eight boxes in my bedroom that I intend to work on sorting through, but can’t get started on them.  Let go of the need to solve this problem, and move the boxes back into storage.  Accept that I’ll be renting that storage space long term.  Once those boxes are out of sight I can refocus on my own things here at the house.

One Response to “Serenity Prayer”


  1. […] Personal stuff was difficult.  Tried to keep only what was truly valuable and non-replaceable.  Started this process, but reached a point where I could not decide if something was a treasured memento or picked up at a garage sale (because it wasn’t my stuff!)  Without his input, the project stalled.  Gave up on it last May. […]


Leave a Reply

