Boxes and a board

April 7, 2009

Last weekend I finally summoned the energy to pack up the friend’s stuff that was scattered around this bedroom to dry. Put it all in new cardboard boxes and they went back down to the basement. Not sitting on the concrete floor this time! So all of that chaos is out of sight now.

Sunday I had the time and motivation to actually go to the storage unit to see if the flooding last month got in and damaged anything there. The floor was dry, so that’s a relief.   Brought back another box to sort through, and also my old ironing board.

The ironing board used to belong to my Grandmother, and it’s a good sturdy metal one that they don’t make anymore.  There is some rust on the bottom now, and paint was peeling in one spot.  I can’t part with it, even though I don’t iron my clothes.  Reorganizing my wardrobe was a project to simplify my life – I only wear clothing that does not need to be ironed.  Still can’t let go of the board.

2 Responses to “Boxes and a board”


  1. Ahhh, but wouldn’t it be so much better to know that someone else was actually using it and appreciating it for its utility?

    I do understand, though — there are still quite a few things that I refuse to get rid of. But remember, there’s “can’t” and “don’t want to”. And you don’t have to… but it’s good to remember the difference.


  2. […] addition, I finally listed my Grandmother’s old ironing board on Freecycle.  No takers.  I’ll relist in a week with the post worded differently.  If […]


Leave a Reply

