Am I A Compulsive Hoarder?

February 7, 2009

During web surfing sessions I run across lots of websites that discuss clutter and hoarding.  Recently on the Unclutterer blog they posted a link to Hoardhouse which shows pictures of the homes of compulsive hoarders.  When I see photos like these I think that I’m exaggerating my own “hoarding” problem because I am better off than these dramatic examples.

Truth is I have had days when there was just a pathway to walk through my living space due to the things piled up against the walls.  The situation doesn’t last more than a week or two, because I’ve been able to deal with it.  So maybe I have hoarding tendencies but also have the ability to fight it.  This is a constant battle which takes up lots of time.  During times when I am overwhelmed by stress or depression, the ability to resist the clutter vanishes and it gets out of control.

Maybe compulsive hoarders used to be like me but some stressful event has pushed them past a point where they are able to self-correct.   Then the clutter grows to a point where they can’t recover from it.

4 Responses to “Am I A Compulsive Hoarder?”

  1. Renia Says:

    I read the same article and downloaded their checklist. Not being able to get in and out of rooms regularly is one of my main problems- there is always one room in my house that is a junk room and also cupboards that if an unsuspecting person opened them….well, you can imagine.

    But I was glad to see I don´t have cleanliness or animal problems!


  2. I just found your site — fantastic 🙂 I’m not sure if you’ve ever seen the clutter image rating scales here: http://www.oup.com/us/companion.websites/umbrella/treatments/hidden/mforms/?view=usa

    Now that our home is essentially clutter-free, I sometimes get irrationally anxious if I feel that clutter is building back up. Checking in with this scale helps me put things back into perspective — it’s a great reality check to see where you are now, where you have been, and where you are going.

    Looking forward to reading more of your journey!


  3. “just a pathway to walk through my living space”
    “a week or two”
    “ability to fight it”
    “constant battle”
    “takes up lots of time”
    “overwhelmed by stress or depression”
    “ability to resist the clutter vanishes”
    “out of control”


  4. […] Am I A Compulsive Hoarder? February 2009 3 comments 3 […]


Leave a Reply

