On Books

December 7, 2007

Sorted through my “library” of books this week.  Some of these books I haven’t seen in several years, but I still feel like there is a connection to them or to what they represent to me.  Found some duplicates – interesting that I bought the same book more than once without realizing it.  I sorted them into categories.  I found that most of the books I had stored away were never read.  They were bought so I could gather information about topics that I’m interested in pursuing someday.  Unfortunately I didn’t get much further than buying the books.  For example one topic I like is sailing.  I have “how to sail” books, “how to buy a used boat” books, biographies written by famous sailors, etc.  Also books on related subjects like traveling in recreational vehicles.  But I don’t own a boat or know anyone who does.  It’s just a dream for the future right now.  So I want to hold onto the books because I don’t want to give up on my dream of being a sailor someday.

Found a few books that I could let go of, like outdated reference material, programming language textbooks I’ll never use again, and some books from my late grandfather’s house that I’ll never read.  I stacked up the rest in a big “keep pile” and took a picture of it.  I think there are about three times as many books as I have room for.  I don’t know how I can talk myself into letting go of two thirds of my library!!

Leave a Reply

