Jeans on eBay

September 6, 2007

I have six pairs of old jeans here in a pile that I have wanted to get rid of for years. None of them fit me anymore, they are too big on me because I lost so much weight. One pair I call my fat jeans have the largest waist size. They are the most dramatic example of my weight loss when I put them on and see the huge gap on the sides, like clown pants. They are huge, I could fit two of me in these pants now. Why did I keep them this long? Just to have a way to measure my new size compared to the old size? That’s not a good reason to keep them around. I’ll never be big enough to wear them again, and if somehow I am I’ll just get new jeans.

So my plan was to list them on ebay, because it’s easy to do that with a photo and a simple description. eBay is a good place to sell jeans, especially a name brand like Levi. People can search the site based on a size to find what fits them, and they do bid, plus it’s simple to ship them in a tyvek priority mail envelope. So anyway I had this intent to list them for at least two years. They were in a bag in the closet, then draped over a chair, then in a pile on another chair, etc. I never got to it, and was exhausted just looking at them. I wanted that pile of pants out of here! Considered dropping them off at a charity to just get it over with.

Why did I have this need to list the jeans on eBay? Because giving them away would be a “waste”? Did I want to recover some of the money I spent on them? Or is it just because I promised myself that I would list the auctions?

There are many hundreds of other things here in a similar situation, saved to be auctioned. The jeans are being used as an example.

I believed that the value of something was based on how much I paid for it or what I might get for it on ebay. That may not be true. Here is my reasoning:

  1. The money that was spent to buy it is gone. That transaction is history and cannot change.
  2. An object can either be used or sold.
  3. If it’s not being used, the only real value is potential – what the market will trade for it, minus my cost to sell it.
  4. The cost to sell is measured in dollars, time, effort, and aggravation.
  5. Selling will pay back in the form of money and peace of mind. I can get the peace of mind faster by throwing it away instead of selling.
  6. Therefore the money I get needs to be valued higher than all the costs of selling for it to be worthwhile. If not I’m better off throwing it away.
One Response to “Jeans on eBay”

  1. Ivan Says:

    Hi, my name is disman-kl, i like your site and i ll be back 😉


Leave a Reply

