Perfectly Good

August 31, 2007

This is one huge stumbling block for me in the effort to get rid of things. I have way too many things that I don’t need or want, but they are not trash. Not obviously broken, all the parts are included, it’s clean and maybe even functional. These items have little to no resale value, except maybe to a collector. However the effort to find a collector/buyer would “cost” me more in time and money than what it’s worth. These are the things that are “perfectly good”. I hang onto them because they are not junk and I don’t know what else to do with them.

Today was trash day, so as usual I was rifling through my boxes looking for a few things I could get rid of. I opened the top drawer of my dresser, which is overflowing with various things I’ve jammed in there, telling myself that I must find at least one thing in there to toss. This time it was a small hand mirror with a lucite handle that I have had forever and haven’t used in more than ten years. Gone.

Tossed a small plastic telephone line connector that was supposed to have a built-in surge suppressor. Never used it because it had to be plugged in to work, which for me was not practical. Gone.

Found a small reel with an 16mm film of people throwing a football around, which was probably a college film project that someone made 30 years ago (not me). I don’t remember where that came from. I probably picked it up when I helped someone move. No sentimental value, don’t want it for myself, and I don’t even have a projector to show it with. Gone. That was a hard one – it’s always possible that whoever gave it to me for whatever reason will one day ask me about it.

Held an old Polaroid Land camera from the 1970’s in my hands, which of course is a perfectly good camera. I don’t have any film for it, have never used it. In the original box, so a collector might want it. Didn’t throw this one away. I’ll probably try to give it to someone, or maybe to a charity. It would be faster and easier to trash it, but I can’t bring myself to toss it in the same can as real garbage. Ugh – at least I made some progress today.

Leave a Reply

